Photos - Featured Slideshows

‹ prev next ›
  • Bright lights, Sin City - 1 of 7

    Bright lights, Sin City

    For the first time, visitors to Las Vegas can take guided tours at the Neon Museum, which recently opened a new visitors center and began offering tours of its Neon Boneyard, a two-acre outdoor space home to more than 150 signs dating from the 1930s through today. Prior to October, guests could only tour the Boneyard by making reservations in advance. Photos courtesy of the Neon Museum; posted Feb. 20, 2013

  • Bright lights, Sin City - 2 of 7

    Bright lights, Sin City

    Another view of the Neon Boneyard.

  • Bright lights, Sin City - 3 of 7

    Bright lights, Sin City

    The La Concha Motel was designed in 1961 by famed African-American architect and American Institute of Architects fellow Paul Revere Williams. In 2007, the shell-shaped Mid-Century Modern lobby building was rescued from demolition and moved to its current location to serve as the Neon Museum’s visitors’ center.

  • Bright lights, Sin City - 4 of 7

    Bright lights, Sin City

    The iconic, glowing “Aladdin’s lamp” is one of the most popular signs featured in the Neon Museum’s Downtown Gallery. Restored and installed on Fremont Street at Las Vegas Boulevard in 1997, it is one of nine signs featured as part of the Neon Museum’s Downtown Gallery on Fremont Street at Las Vegas Boulevard. For more information, visit www.neonmuseum.org.

  • Bright lights, Sin City - 5 of 7

    Bright lights, Sin City

    The Chief Hotel Court opened in 1939 near Las Vegas’ downtown district at 1201 E. Fremont Street. The neon sign that remains from the property was created circa 1940, making it one of the oldest neon signs in Las Vegas today. It has been completely restored and is now installed as public art throughout the downtown Las Vegas area.

  • Bright lights, Sin City - 6 of 7

    Bright lights, Sin City

    Founded in 1907, Anderson Dairy’s “Andy” Anderson sign was created in the 1950s by designer Herman Boernge. The playful neon version of the cartoon “Andy” Anderson mascot remained at the dairy until 1994 when he joined the Neon Museum’s Downtown Gallery.

  • Bright lights, Sin City - 7 of 7

    Bright lights, Sin City

    The Hacienda Hotel and Casino opened in 1956 on the south end of the Las Vegas Strip. The Horse and Rider greeted travelers as the centerpiece of the hotel’s roadside signage, originally rotating atop a pylon emblazoned with the hotel’s name. In 1996, the Horse and Rider became the first neon sign to be fully restored and installed as public art by the Neon Museum on Las Vegas Boulevard at Fremont Street.

More from Featured Slideshows

Featured Slideshows

Please upgrade your Flash Player.
Please upgrade your Flash Player.

Travel Weekly Poll

Voices

  • Consumer media discover that travel agents do exist

    "Contrary to some thoughts, travel agents do exist ... We are usually able to get clients better prices, and we know we can see that clients have better experiences. And as our personal motto is: Our Service Travels With You."

    More»

TW Index: Most Active Stocks

Latest Top News:
Caribbean
Europe
Travel Weekly is on Facebook
Viewpoints For Travel Agents
Travel Weekly Topics