7 nations eligible for the EU

NEW YORK -- Seven countries became eligible to negotiate entry into the European Union, the organization said Dec. 10.

Turkey, Bulgaria, Romania, Latvia, Lithuania, Slovakia and Malta are formal candidates for membership, according to

officials at the EU summit in Helsinki, Finland.

Entry talks are expected to open early next year.

JDS Travel News JDS Viewpoints JDS Africa/MI