Ecuador announces new visa requirements

The Consulate General of Ecuador said effective April 15 it will require tourist visas or tourist visa applications for visitors from countries that require visas from Ecuadorian citizens.

According to the consulate office in Jersey City, N.J., U.S. citizens planning to visit the destination for any length of stay will be required to submit a visa application, which costs $30, but they will not actually be issued a visa. Other countries to which the same policy applies include Canada, all countries in the U.K., Ireland, Mexico, Australia, New Zealand, Japan and about a dozen others.

The U.S. State Department has not yet updated its entry policies for Ecuador to reflect the change.

Citizens of 26 other nations will be required to submit a visa application and to obtain a visa, which costs an additional $30, the consulate said.

JDS Travel News JDS Viewpoints JDS Africa/MI