South Africa firm begins tourism effort

JOHANNESBURG, South Africa -- The Regional Tourism Organization of Southern Africa (Retosa) launched promotional efforts to attract travelers from the U.S. and Canada to its 14 member nations.

"Our mission is to inform [North] Americans about the tourism potential of the Retosa members," said Shepherd Nyarawata, executive director of Retosa.

Retosa, the tourism division of Southern African Development Community, consists of: Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Seychelles, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

The group has created a number of promotional and informative materials to be distributed to tour operators, travel agents and consumers.

A directory listing countries and their individual tourism sites, brochures and a newsletter are now available, as is a Web site at

Retosa also now has representation in the U.S. For more information, call (212) 286-9300

JDS Travel News JDS Viewpoints JDS Africa/MI