State Dept. extends expiring-passports rule

WASHINGTON -- The State Department added Slovenia and Taiwan to the list of countries whose travelers can enter the U.S. with passports that will expire soon after their arrival.

Normally, foreign travelers cannot enter the U.S. with expiring passports, but the department waives the requirement for about 90 countries that have agreed to let their travelers return for six months after their passports expire.

JDS Travel News JDS Viewpoints JDS Africa/MI