Minneapolis-based Sun Country has announced 12 new seasonal routes for summer 2020, including four routes that feature new destinations for the low-cost carrier.

The expansion, Sun Country said, is one of the largest in its history.

Sun Country will service each of the four new destinations -- Baltimore; Bozeman Mont.; Cleveland; and Portland, Maine -- from Minneapolis-St. Paul. Flights begin in May or June and will be offered twice per week with the exception of Minneapolis-Baltimore, which Sun Country will fly four times per week for most of the summer season.

Sun Country, which began diversifying its network beyond the Twin Cities last summer, will also offer five new summer routes from Madison, Wis., and three from Dallas/Fort Worth Airport. From Madison, the carrier will fly twice-weekly to Nashville; Boston; Newark; Portland, Ore.; and Seattle with service commencing in May. From DFW, Sun Country will fly twice-weekly to Puerto Vallarta and Los Cabos, Mexico, and weekly to Liberia, Costa Rica. Service on those routes begins in June.

Tuesday's announcement brings the number of new routes Sun Country has announced in 2019 to 46, the carrier said.

JDS Travel News JDS Viewpoints JDS Africa/MI