The TSA is posting signs at airports to inform airline passengers about Real ID requirements that begin in January 2018.

The Real ID Act, passed by Congress in 2005, established minimum security-related requirements for state-issued driver's licenses and identification cards. Among other provisions, the law establishes what data that states must require before issuing a license or card and what data they must subsequently store electronically. It also lays out what technology must be encoded in the IDs and what data must be printed on the IDs.

Thus far, 25 states have complied with the law and 17 states and territories have gotten extensions for compliance from the federal government. Nine states -- Kentucky, Maine, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina and Washington -- aren't compliant. If they remain noncompliant, residents of those states would have to present an alternative ID at airport checkpoints effective Jan. 22, 2018.

Passports, permanent resident cards, trusted-traveler cards and military IDs are among the alternatives that the TSA will accept. 

Residents of states that have received an extension to the Real ID Act have until October 2020 before they must obtain a Real ID or use an alternative type of identification at TSA checkpoints.


From Our Partners

From Our Partners

Las Vegas Webinar image
The Latest in Las Vegas
Register Now
Los Cabos dining district
Los Cabos' 23400 District
Read More
2021 California Connect
California Connect
Register Now

JDS Travel News JDS Viewpoints JDS Africa/MI