Locations on New Seven Wonders list replace original sites


More than 2,100 years after the original Seven Wonders of the World were established in ancient Greece, the New Seven Wonders of the world were unveiled Saturday at the Benfica Stadium in Lisbon before a crowd of about 50,000.

A project that was initiated by Swiss entrepreneur Bernard Weber in 1999, the New Seven Wonders were chosen in online and phone-in voting by more than 100 million voters from more than 200 countries. Voting began Jan. 1, 2006, according to Weber's New7Wonders Foundation.

Chosen from 20 international sites, the New Seven Wonders are:

  • Chichen Itza, Mexico
  • Christ the Redeemer statue, Rio de Janeiro
  • The Great Wall, China
  • Machu Picchu, Peru
  • Petra, Jordan
  • The Colloseum, Rome
  • The Taj Mahal, India
  • The new list was selected from a list of 20 sites, which had been determined by a New7Wonders panel, whittled down from an original 77 sites, also established by public voting that concluded on Dec. 24, 2005.

    Of the final 20, sites that did not make it on the New Seven Wonders list include the Statue of Liberty in New York, the Eiffel Tower in Paris, the Acropolis in Greece, the statues of Easter Island in Chile, the Sydney Opera House and Stonehenge in England.

    At the ceremony, Weber announced his foundation's next campaign will be the New Seven Wonders of Nature.

    The original manmade Wonders of the Worlds are:

  • The Temple of Artemis, Turkey
  • The Hanging Gardens of Babylon (near present-day Al Hillah in Iraq)
  • The Colossus of Rhodes, Greece
  • The Mausoleum at Halicarnassus, Turkey)
  • The Lighthouse at Alexandria, Egypt
  • The Pyramids at Giza, Egypt
  • The Statue of Zeus, Greece
  • The Pyramids at Giza in Egypt, the only remaining site from the original list, were given an honorary New Seven Wonders candidacy.

    To contact reporter Michelle Baran, send e-mail to [email protected].

    JDS Travel News JDS Viewpoints JDS Africa/MI