PORT-OF-SPAIN, Trinidad -- Six Caribbean nations instituted disaster-management plans to deal with SARS should outbreaks occur in the islands.

In response to guidelines issued by the Trinidad-based Caribbean Epidemiology Centre, Antigua and Barbuda, Belize, Dominica, Montserrat, St. Maarten and Trinidad and Tobago met with public health officials to ready hospital facilities and institute public awareness programs.

Belize temporarily banned entry of travelers from China, Hong Kong, India, Singapore, Vietnam and Canada.

Separately, Jamaica placed its medical and emergency services on alert and Bermuda urged residents to postpone nonessential travel to Toronto, but will permit Canadians to enter Bermuda.

JDS Travel News JDS Viewpoints JDS Africa/MI