Costa Rica this week opened its borders to the residents of two more states and Washington, D.C., and will expand the list to include three additional states later this month, according to the country's tourism ministry.

The changes bring to 12 the number of states whose residents will be allowed to visit.

Residents from Maryland, Virginia and the District of Columbia were allowed entry beginning Sept. 1. That list will be expanded to include Colorado, Massachusetts and Pennsylvania on Sept. 15.

They join Connecticut, Maine, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York and Vermont, whose residents had previously been approved for entry.

• Related: Costa Rica's tourism minister: 'Shared vision' crucial for recovery

Additionally, the country amended its entry requirement to include proof of a negative polymerise chain reaction test for Covid-19 within 72 hours of arrival rather than the previously required 48-hour time frame. Entrants will be required to prove their state of residence with a driver's license of state ID.

Also beginning this week, the country said all hotels can operate at 100% capacity, except for common areas like restaurants, gyms and swimming pools, which are capped at 50% capacity.


From Our Partners

2020 Enterprise Webinar
React. Reset. Reshape. | Enterprise and National Define the Path Forward
Watch Now
The Right Rental for All Occasions
Read More
2020 Lifestyle Holidays Webinar
The Lifestyle You Deserve
Register Now

JDS Travel News JDS Viewpoints JDS Africa/MI